Top bill with a duel between R5 and S2000 cars


Ypres, 23 May 2014
FIA European Rally Championship 2014 – Geko Ypres Rally – Press info 10

The 50th edition of the Geko Ypres Rally is shaping up to be a fantastic top fixture. Notwithstanding the fact that the registrations have not as yet closed, more than 70 teams have already registered. It is already clear that a new record will be set, because nowhere this season have there been more R5 cars at the start than there will be in action at Ypres.
Even before the registration of the official Peugeot drivers Craig Breen and Kevin Abbring with their 208 T16, we already have six cars of the latest generation on the entry list. The experienced Xevi Pons, reigning Spanish Champion and with 68 World Rally entries to his name will be making his debut on the treacherous Geko Ypres Rally tarmac stages at the wheel of a Ford Fiesta R5.

Belgian R5 cars on the way

J-Motorsport, the team of Jourdan Serderidis and Frédéric Miclotte, will be entering two Fiesta R5 cars for local driver Didier Duquesne and for Cédric Cherain, who will be defending his title chances in the Belgian championship. Bernd Casier is eagerly looking forward to the delivery of his Ford Fiesta R5. The bookmakers have Bernd Casier down for a Top 5, having finished four times 4th (2005, 2007, 2008 en 2010) and twice 5th (2004 en 2006). An impressive record of achievements for the driver who back in 2007 was well on the way to clinching victory. Bernd Casier can be counted as one of the top contenders with his Ford Fiesta R5.
Eightfold Belgian rally champion Pieter Tsjoen will be defending the Peugeot colours with a 208 T16. Following several months of inactivity Pieter Tsjoen will definitely need a period of adjustment, however with a turbo engine we can undoubtedly expect to see Tsjoen up amongst the official Peugeot machines.
The third make to be represented amongst the R5 brigade is Citroën. Vincent Verschueren is impatiently waiting for the delivery of his Citroën DS3 R5. The twofold Belgian Super 2000 champion will for the first time have the opportunity to battle it out for a podium place in Ypres with a top car.

Atmospheric or turbo?

In the Circuit of Ireland Esapekka Lappi proved that the Skoda Fabia Super 2000 with its atmospheric two-litre power unit is far from being over the hill on tarmac. Skoda definitely has a super car with which to also win the Geko Ypres Rally this season, because Mister Ypres Freddy Loix will be going flat out to clinch a ninth victory in the Belgian classic with the Skoda Fabia Super 2000 with which he has been dominating the Belgian Rally Championship this season.
It will undoubtedly be a fantastic duel between the R5 turbo and the two-litre atmospheric cars, as there are a dozen entered in this category. The Skoda colours will be defended by Lappi, Loix, Wiegand, the Brit Neil Simpson and the Czechs Antonin Tlustak and Jaroslav Orsak. In addition to the Ford Fiesta S2000 of the Latvian Vasily Gryazin, this season a revelation in the ERC, there is also an impressive armada of Peugeot 207 S2000 cars with Bruno Magalhaes, Davy Vanneste, Melissa Debackere, Raphaël Venant and Laszlo Vizin.
In a nutshell, a top bill for the Geko Ypres Rally on 20th and 21st June, but it gets even better…








Media Geko Ypres Rally ERC 2014

Admin and Translation:

Media & Comunicación Astra Racing WRC Team
Media & Comunication TGS Worldwide
Media Toni Gardemeister Driving Academy
Rally Report Magazine Argentina

Categories:   Rally Report Magazine Argentina 14 años


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.